Sunday, June 1, 2014

BN recaptures Teluk Intan

Mah_Siew_KeongTELUK INTAN: Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Mah Siew Keong recaptured the Teluk Intan parliamentary seat after defeating Dyana Sofya Mohd Daud of the DAP by a 238-vote majority in today’s by-election.
Mah, 53, obtained 20,157 votes compared with Dyana Sofya, 27, who garnered 19,919 votes.
The results were announced by returning officer Ibrahim Ahmad at the vote tallying centre, Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Abdul Rahman Talib here, at 9.41 pm tonight.

Voter turnout was 66.67% with 40,236 out of the 60,349 registered voters casting their votes.
Mah’s victory not only sees him wresting back the seat, which he held before the 2008 general election, but also reinforced his position as the president of Gerakan and the party’s standing in the BN. He won the Gerakan president post in the party’s polls last October.
– Bernama